t3chn0tix

Safeguarding Privacy and Building Trust

A Picture will go here

I try to prioritize transparent privacy policies. I don't snitch on my friends.
To ensure the privacy and trust of my visitors, I approach web management with a commitment to not 'snitch' on them. This involves an approach rooted in understanding and adhering to privacy laws and guidelines relevant to all regions, like for example the FCC, GDPR or CCPA. I will always conduct thorough privacy audits of the website to identify data collection elements, including cookies and analytics tools, to understand each data point. Implementing a transparent privacy policy is crucial I think to all web service users, web service providers, companies and websites, detailing precisely what data is collected, how it's utilized, and who it may be shared with. This should all be as transparent as possible. This includes all third party or smartcontracts.

I will try when needed to anonymize user data, Facilitate user education, encourage feedback, and employ encryption for secure data transmission. I will keep up to date on the lastest tech news involving data safety. Continuous vigilance and training in evolving privacy and security training are an aspect I spent most of my life doing and learning, much like protecting the trust of close friends in a digital realm. I will continue to add to this to share my knowledge and new things I learned to help keep you protected and informed. I feel like privacy is taken for granted and it can get people hurt in many different ways, these people are mostly innocent. Privacy is not something to be taken lightly.
-Tabi

Websites do utilize tracking mechanisms and I'll give you some harmless examples that can be used for all the wrong reasons. One is cookies, it's used to collect data on users' online activities and preferences. Cookies are small text files stored in a user's browser that contain information about their interactions. These cookies help websites remember user preferences, provide personalized experiences, and track user behaviour across different sites. Google, YouTube, and others collect data on users' search queries, the websites they visit, the videos they watch, and more. This data is used to create a profile of a user's interests, behaviour, and interactions, which allows internet companies to tailor advertisements and content to match their preferences. I don't have a need to use tools like this but sites like that and major social media do have incentives to run those tools on thier site. Those companies make money off your clicks. They sell you I won't sell out my friends either.

On the Dark Side Cookies, inadvertently carry a potential risk if exploited by hackers. These tiny data packets, stored in a user's browser, can contain critical pieces of information. Session tokens, unique identifiers issued by servers, grant access during a browsing session; a hacker gaining access could hijack the user's session. In hijacking session we see accounts get taken over, passwords stolen and money missing from online accounts. Your browser by default is set up to use cookies. That's another topic on security.

Users should be aware of how their data is being collected, stored, and used by online platforms and should have the option to manage their privacy settings and consent to data collection practices. The data that is collected belongs to you, I feel if this transparency is seen that you'll see your worth to these companies.

I'll imagine my website as the 'clubhouse' where visitors arrive. Each visitor is akin to a user accessing the website. When a user comes, their browser interacts with the website's server, requesting and receiving data to display the website. This interaction is like signing a 'guestbook.'

"If I snitch on my friends, I'll have no friends." I can't see your IP, and server side I can issue session ID's instead of IP hits in the access.log hiding your IP and just giving you a session ID. I do advise using a proxy web-browser like brave or a VPN to hid your IP for safety. That's another topic.

While Google's intent isn't fully malicious it's focused on improving user experiences and money, this has raised website owners concerns regarding data privacy and security. Privacy advocates emphasize the importance of informing users about data collection practices, providing opt-out options, and ensuring data anonymization. I believe in people's right to privacy and others should take that stance. The right to your privacy, you families privacy and others privacy is important. You'll miss it when it's gone.